Singing with Kids

1 Apr

I thought I would start a new post with some of the music I use with children when I am teaching. I find as a relief teacher these resources have been invaluable and I would not leave home without them!
1. Peter Combe CD’s. This talented performer has produced a variety of CD’s and I have children love them! I have found children’s favourite songs have been The Silly Postman on the Toffee Apple CD. Peter Combe still visits schools and has the ability to entrance children with his wit and clever songwriting!
This is the clip of the Toffee Apple theme song!

2. Newspaper Mama is another favourite of mine. Peter Combe again.


I will be back with some more of my favourites!

So I am back again!

3. Here are the lyrics to The Silly Postman

The postman came on a Monday
And put a letter in the letterbox
Put a letter in the letterbox

The postman came on a Tuesday
And put a letter
And a frog in the letterbox
Put a letter and a frog in the letterbox

The postman came on a Wednesday
And put a letter
And a frog
And a mouse in the letterbox
Put a letter and a frog
and a mouse in the letterbox

The postman came on a Thursday
And put a letter
And a frog
And a mouse
And a spider in the letterbox
Put a letter and a frog and a mouse
and a spider in the letterbox

The postman came on a Friday
And put a letter
And a frog
And a mouse
And a spider
And a snail in the letterbox
Put a letter and a frog and a mouse
and a spider and a snail in the letterbox

The postman never ever came again
He was fired
And he was told
That he was a very silly boy

I made some pictures for the song and laminated them. I also laminated an envelope for the first verse. I find that it is an interesting song as it so easy to adapt from Kindergarten to Year 1 or 2. The kindergarten children love seeing the pictures go up on the board and following the sequence, they also like to have a picture and listen out for their turn. I have made 5 laminated cards with the days of the week printed on them. The preps love having the words and the pictures and trying to work out what day and picture go together! Year ones and twos I just give them the cards, start the music and they sort themselves!

4. Another CD that I wouldn’t be without is Nicky Nacky Nocky Noo! It is by Colin Buchanan. There are a few favourites on there. He does a very good version of the song ‘Bingo’. I made some cards for the song again. You only need a farmer a cow a chook and a dog! I have tried to find a youtube clip of the song, but to no avail! You can purchase it here https://secure.colinbuchanan.com.au/shop/shop27.html.

5. Another delightful piece of music I use is the Lycra song! You can listen and buy this song here! http://www.lambsongs.co.nz/Mp3%20files/Our%20Lovely%20lycra.mp3  . I purchased 3 metres of lovely stretchy green Lycra, as on my prac, I was with a very large group of Kindergarten children. I also bought a plastic lizard for the last verse! Have a listen it is such a great song! I have to say it has been a hit every time as lycra is fairly indestructible!   Have fun!

P.S. I had a listen to the lyrics on the website and this line………. ‘My lovely lizard can play trampolines’.. is missing! I shall go and see if I can find the original! I am still looking!!!

2 Responses to “Singing with Kids”

  1. Sue Lewin September 23, 2015 at 6:40 pm #

    I notice that you are looking for the last verse of Lovely Lycra. Peter Stewart and I (Sue Lewin) recorded this song on our CD ‘Those things we do’ and it has the last verse. www,earlychildhood.com.au
    regards,
    Sue Lewin

    • thequiverfull September 23, 2015 at 9:57 pm #

      Wow so good to hear from you! Your song is loved far and wide in Perth WA! Thank you so much for leaving a message I truly appreciate it! Is it still possible for me to purchase your C D?
      Thanks
      Sue

Leave a Reply

