Cooking with children: insects!

17 Apr

Hi I’m back! I am still in an insect biscuit and cake making mood ! I bought a butterfly biscuit cutter and a dragonfly cutter as well and I am off again! I have been drinking this product by Charlie’s one is a Spirulina and Pear juice and the the other one is made with Acacia berries! I am amazed I was up cooking at 12 midnight! This is a good thing!

I have used the following recipe for over 20 years now and it is such a good recipe for baking for children and with children. It is one of those recipes that are almost indestructible! The great thing to is that you can make up to 70 biscuits (mini ones). I have sometimes got to the point where I have thrown the last bit away! I know shame on me! but it just goes on and on and on, a bit like the woman who used her last portion of oil and flour to bake bread for the prophet and a miracle happened and the oil and flour didn’t run out until the end of the famine! When I am using this recipe I think of this story, a lot!

Here it is:

3/4 cup of plain flour
3/4 cup of self raising flour
1 egg
1/2 cup of butter
1/2 cup of castor sugar
175 degree oven. In a bowl cream butter and sugar. Add the egg. Sift both the flours and add to the mixture. Form into a dough and knead lightly. Place in clingwrap in fridge for 30minutes. Take out of fridge and roll thin.Cut out desired shapes. Place on greased trays. Cook for 10-15minutes. Done!

When I work with children I find it is easier to make a batch before hand so that they don’t have to wait the 30 minutes as they want to get going! It is a great recipe to follow for children and lots of language comes from cooking and talking about the procedure, the science of it all and also the pure joy of baking and spending time together. I am now off to create my butterflies and dragonflies and will return with photos!
Ok I am back!
I started with these cutters

Here is the end result! Yay!


I will be back with some info and the sweets I used to decorate!
The dragon fly I used green sugar coated jubes and cut them into thin slices! I then cut them in half and as they are sooo sticky they stick onto the biscuit, you could add a tiny bit of icing to be sure!


With the butterfly I just cut thin slices and added them to the wings, the sweets I used were mini m and m’s
The flower was me again forgetting about the insects and getting carried away with the decoration!
Insects need flowers around!
I used the red licorice again and rolled it out flat

I then cut out a petal shape

And then pinched the base of the petal and joined a few together

I need to go and buy some more different coloured jubes and experiment with them!

Leave a Reply

