Teacher resources and classroom fun

15 May

Having started blogging again, I am now keen to create more posts. I am so grateful to educators around the globe who consistently share their lesson plans, ideas, strategies, things that worked things that didn’t. I feel I need to throw my cap into the ring and share some ideas that I feel were enjoyed by children, I observed from their language that  they were learning and  from the parents  confirmation as they could see that their  children were happy and enjoying learning.

I thought I would share some of the resources I have used and also where I purchased them! I often find wonderful ideas or resources on blogs only to discover the item shown is not easily available. That is fine as well as I love people’s ideas and creativity!

1. A teacher friend found these in Ikea. At the moment they cost $0.99c! Amazing! In the catalougue they are called Tolsby.

After I raved about them, my Husband went and purchased 60! He said he thought 26 could be used for alphabet games! Some could be used for photos of the children. Some for activities on table tops! Sometimes I wonder about him! He is a Principal in a High School. How does he know this stuff??

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Pre Primary children in the class absolutely loved setting up a shop in the classroom. I found lots of loose change as I prefer to give children money as this is what they see being used everyday in their home and school life. I printed some photos of food and added prices. But I think that it would have been better if the children created the signs themselves! The little patty pans are so cheap in $2 shops. The basket had large and small pom poms. Oh yes I forgot I also purchased a market stall at Ikea for $15.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

I really love the way the signs have been put up! All higgeldy pigeldy!  Perfect just how I love it!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I will come back tomorrow and keep going with this post………….

Here I am again!

This amazingly and beautifully crafted Rabbit is from http://mrsparrow.com.au/

My daughter in law purchased this for me for Mother’s day, knowing that I love toys for story props!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The penguin  was  from the same shop. It has a sweet story attached to it!

Years ago I met a lady who had a baby girl and a four year old boy. It was quite by accident as her car had a flat tyre and she had had to stop outside our house and of course we helped her out. We got to chatting and tea was served and as I was doing a Child Care course at the time and I tentatively asked her if she felt comfortable with me observing her baby for an assignment. She said yes! She told me her son had an imaginary friend called Domta Domta! He apparently lived in a tree!

Well………………..years down the track 2012, I was working in a school, in Kindergarten ( maternity relief ) and one of the children sat down on a chair and I said, “oh, no you just sat on Domta Domta”. The children looked at me as if I had gone quite mad! And then from then on they continued with the imaginary friend and would say to me, “Poor Domta Domta, missed out on morning tea”. I decided to see what would happen if  i asked them if they would like to meet Domta Domta! They agreed and I brought in this penguin. They looked a bit surprised and some of them said, “We didn’t think Domta Domta would look like that!” I found a tin pirate suitcase with some wonderful resources inside  from The Paddy’s Market in Sydney (http://www.paddysmarkets.com.au/).

I am off to take a photo of the suitcase! I took out the little wooden sword and replaced it with a little book. I told the children that Domta Domta liked to record his adventures as in his spare time he was a pirate! The children loved Domta Domta and created their own adventures for him.

 

pirate-play-set-in-tin-suitcase-detail

Leave a Reply

