Math games: Dualoh!

16 Oct

I am so delighted to have discovered these amazing math game cards created by Richard Korborsky.

The weeks I was in the Year 3 class were amazing and I started thinking about different ways I could differentiate with the diverse range of abilities in the classroom. The cards and also the Dualoh app were a God send!

 

13t1mathscardgames

 

 

 

 

 

They are priced at $7.50. I decided to laminate them so that I can keep them forever!

This is the link with all the information: http://nie.thewest.com.au/resources/maths/dualoh-card-games

TYPES OF CARD GAMES

♦ Subitising (numbers 1-12)
♦ Multiplication (2-5 times tables)
♦ Whole Numbers (20-110)
♦ Fractions (diagrams, symbols, equivalence)

I purchased multiple packs!

I noticed that there were a group of children who just needed a little support so I organized them at desks and went around the room just checking if they were on track. Then I had some mat time on the floor for the children who were struggling with the basic skills and just needed time. They would sit for a while, try out the math and then say, “Ok, I am good now!”. There were a group of boys who were firing ahead so I set them different tasks. They worked their way through their math book, marked it and moved onto the Dualoh cards. As they progressed I purchased the Dualoh app for my ipad.

dualoh app 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

dualoh app

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/dualoh/id891299649?mt=8

This was a big hit! When the other children had completed their math they too moved onto the cards and then the  ipad which was in great demand! It was a great purchase! I also used Richards Game boards and they too, became a big hit! Math sorted Yay!

Maths-Games-Interactives

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.ricgroup.com.au/product/maths-games-interactives/

 

Oh I nearly forgot! the school also purchased a  Back to Front Year 4 pack for my keen gun boys! The resources are great and I love the way the focus is on problem solving. There are  excellent online videos for teachers

http://www.backtofrontmaths.com.au/

Before I took over from the teacher, the school had arranged for Professor Maths to come out and run their workshops. This too was a wonderful, fun and hands on activity.

http://www.professormaths.com/

professor maths

 

 

One Response to “Math games: Dualoh!”

  1. Richard Korbosky February 18, 2015 at 3:04 am #

    Hello

    Thank you for that lovely review of the card games and board games. I’m glad you are finding them a useful, fun maths learning tool.

    It would be appreciated of you could please change the link for the card and maths board games. Both games can be purchased at the following website http://www.dapma.com.au or by emailing richard@dapma.com.au

    The price of the card games vary aswell depending on how many units are purchased.

    I’m also available to come to schools and work with teachers or children on how to get excited about mathematics.

    Once again thank you for the great review.

    Regards,
    Richard Korbosky

Leave a Reply

